top of page

Why We Should Embrace Change


Change is something I don't deal with well, at all. As soon as I start to get out of my regular routine or even the thought of it, I feel anxious, I can't sleep and I feel like my stomach will not stop turning. So why is it that we are not as susceptible to change? Why do we fear leaving our ways?

I'm sure in some way we can relate to this, and at some point we are going to be going through some type of change, whatever that may be. This to me is something that means I have to get out of my comfort zone, and I like being in my comfort zone. But why do I struggle so much with stepping outside the box and challenging myself? What if we just stayed in our comfort zone our whole life? We never would feel fulfilled or have seen new opportunities because we were afraid of change and the risk that goes along with it.

Recently I have been faced with some change, and my first initial reaction was to question whether this change was meant for me or not. I would run every possible thought in my head of what could happen. This is what I do when something comes to me that changes my current routine. I look the other way but no matter how much I thought about it, the more I realized that I can either run away from it, or I can embrace it and run with it.

So I embraced this change, and even though it still scares the shit out of me, it's giving me new opportunities and a new adventure I never thought I would embark on. Opportunities to make sure I live my best possible life and fulfill every aspect. It's important to not be afraid and to learn new things about myself and to make sure I don't go through my life staying in my comfort zone, because how would I ever grow as a person?

I think people are afraid of change because they are so used to doing something a certain way. We become stubborn because that's human nature. We get in the way of our own happiness and don't see all the opportunities around us. If we are more susceptible to change than our possibilities are endless.

Change doesn't necessarily have to be an intimidating factor, but something we can slowly adapt to. We need to do more of what makes us happy and sometimes that means doing things a little differently than what we are used to. Change is going to give us the opportunity to grow, and when we grow we figure out who we are, and when we figure out who we are, we are happy.

A lot of people go through life, not knowing their real purpose, and I can tell you right now, I still don't know mine. I know that I want to figure it out and live a fulfilling, happy life. So I think when we are approached with change, approached with a new opportunity, we should take it.

Don't be afraid of what may be holding you back and just do it. I'm not saying go out and go look for ways to change your life but embrace them as they come at you. If you are someone who struggles with this and can't get out of your comfort zone then I can definitely relate. But don't be afraid, because we all have room to grow, even if it is something that scares you.

- Jess


bottom of page